Gurgaon, 12 Mar 2017

Chawrasia rises to 18th in Europe and second in Asia

Set to move into the top-170 in world rankings

Here are some of the stats relating to SSP Chawrasia’s victory at the Hero Indian Open 2017
With this win:
SSP Chawrasia became the second Indian after Jeev Milkha Singh to bag four European Tour titles, his sixth win on the Asian Tour and overall sixth international victory.
Became the first Indian to defend a European Tour title.

Chawrasia climbed from 194th place to 18th position in the European Tour’s Race to Dubai and from 60th to second place in the Asian Tour Order of Merit. The Kolkata man is now also likely to move up about 80 spots from his current 258th position in the official world golf ranking when the updated rankings are released on Monday afternoon.

Chawrasia became the third Indian after Jyoti Randhawa (2000, 2006 & 2007) and Ali Sher (1991 & 1993) to win the Indian Open on two or more occasions (2016 & 2017).
Becomes only the third player to make a successful defence of the Indian Open since the event began in 1964, the first player to achieve the feat was Japan’s Kenji Hosoishi (1967-68).
Became the first player since Jyoti Randhawa and the second Indian after him to successfully defend the Indian Open title, Randhawa, a three-time winner, won back-to-back in 2006 and 2007 at the Delhi Golf Club. 
Chawrasia became the second Indian after Jyoti Randhawa to win the Indian Open at two different venues, Randhawa had won it at Classic Golf Resort, Gurgaon in 2000 and at the Delhi Golf Club in 2006 and 2007.

The third consecutive win for India at the Indian Open, Anirban Lahiri won it in 2015 and SSP Chawrasia won his first in 2016.

The 13th Indian win in European Tour history.
The first time India have won the same European Tour event in three consecutive seasons.

Chawrasia’s 16th win as a professional.
The 76th international win for India.

Makes European Tour history by becoming the first player to win their first four European Tour titles on home soil. The wins are: 2008 EMAAR-MGF Indian Masters, 2011 Avantha Masters, 2016 Hero Indian Open and 2017 Hero Indian Open.
Continues with his incredible record in the Hero Indian Open since the event became part of the European Tour International Schedule in 2015. In 2015 he finished second and first in 2016 and 2017.

Continues with his incredible career record in the Hero Indian Open. Has now finished inside the top two six times, with two wins and four runner-up placings.

Becomes the first Indian to win the same European Tour event twice.

Becomes the second Indian to win European Tour events in consecutive seasons, following Arjun Atwal (2002 Caltex Singapore Masters presented by Carlsberg) and (2003 Carlsberg Malaysian Open).

About PGTI:

Formed in 2006, Professional Golf Tour of India (PGTI) is the recognised official body of professional golf in India. PGTI's objective is to promote professional golf in the country, as well as to give players an opportunity to be involved in the decision making on all aspects of the game. Headed by Mr. Gautam Thapar (President), PGTI's governing body comprises leading Indian golf professionals. PGTI currently has over 300 members.

For information on PGTI, please contact:

Nikhil Kalaan
Deputy Manager - Media, PGTI
Mobile: 9910974846